How Do You Spell Relief: UIB

Friday, Aug., 19: My week did not get off to a good start. Of course when you are unemployed, that’s pretty much the case every week. Monday was one of those Murphy’s Law kind of days. Nothing big, but just enough stuff going awry to be very annoying!

Tuesday was better. Some friends of mine who like my blog had hired me to do some writing for them, and I was excited to work on the project. I wrote for a while at my local library, as computers there are much zippier than mine, but came around 3 pm to complete the project.

When I walked in the door, I was greeted by the noise of the neighbor who lives below me. This neighbor, who has been a noise thorn in my side for some time, and her pals were already outside yukking up. This girl has only one volume and that is LOUD!!!

Of course their constant, annoying noise only amplified my stress level. You regular readers know my situation is rather dire, in terms of no income and looming bills! As she and her buddies yelped and cackled away on their deck, I felt like I was on the brink of losing it! I called management (the office was closed) and left a message. I then strolled toward the pool to decompress. I live in a lovely apartment complex with lots of trees and flowers and bunnies and two pools! I often walk around in the early evening and never hear sounds like those from my neighbor – the Neighbor from Hell!

Decompressing with my bunny pal by the pool!

I returned a bit later, only to be greeted by continuing loudness and an apartment that reeked of smoke from Party Central down below. I called security, and I heard the Neighbor from Hell tell them very defiantly that she does not care and the noise continued.

I somehow managed to sleep that night. The next day I made the dreaded walk to the mailbox (see my Mr. Postman post), which rarely contains any good news. I had a letter from the Wisconsin Unemployment Division (where I last collected unemployment). Being in a half glass empty kind of mode, I am afraid to open it. I’ve heard stories in job networking groups about people being required, for a variety of reasons. to pay unemployment benefits back. However, when I open the letter it says I might be eligible for an extension. I am instructed to call a number to find out. I nervously dialed the number and was put on hold for what seemed like forever. Anyone who has had to file unemployment knows how hard it can be to talk to a live person or even to get put on hold. Often all you get is a busy signal, and you have to just keep dialing and dialing and dialing.

I finally got a real, live person, and she asked me a bunch of questions. She told me I am indeed eligible for extended emergency benefits and we continued with the necessary exchange of information. If this woman had been in front of me I would have hugged her and given her a big kiss! I was so relieved. I can’t remember ever feeling such a strong, powerful feeling of relief flooding over me. I was nearly in tears! After I got off the phone, I felt like running down the street shouting – shouting what I was not sure – just yelping maybe! I was positively giddy! The heavy weight off my shoulders was gone!

A few days have passed since that fantabulous news! Once the benefits come through, I should be good on the bills for another couple of months, but I cannot rest on my laurels. I would love to figure out how to make a living writing my blog or other blogs, perhaps doing more writing projects like the one I just completed for my friends (they liked it – yay!).

However, it’s Friday. Even us unemployed folks deserve a relaxing weekend. Let’s just hope the Neighbor from Hell allows that to happen!

Lisa, Talented and Professional Job Seeker

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How Do You Spell Relief: UIB

  1. So glad to hear you’ve had some good news with the extension! Can’t imagine the worry you’ve had. Hope it just gets better and better! Loving the blog.

    • ljager1 says:

      Thank you! It’s 9:45 pm here on a Friday evening. I know i should be out and about somewhere fun, but i’m not. It’s eerily quiet at noisy neighbor girl’s apartment down below. I hope she is not planning a coup (sp?) of some sort against me? ha ha

Leave a Reply

