Oh What Fresh Hell Is This?!

Wed., Oct. 12, 2011:I don’t think any other phrase better captures the obstacles and disappointments encountered in long-term unemployment (or any other adverse life circumstances for that matter). The phrase was coined by Dorothy Parker, http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dorothy_Parker a witty writer who is probably best known for such pointed and caustic comments, along with her poetry and short stories. She also is said to have coined the phrase “boys don’t make passes at girls who wear glasses.” And she was the sole founding female member a group of writers called the Algonquin Round Table, who began regularly lunching together in the 1920s. Her life story was made into at least one movie “Mrs. Parker and the Vicious Circle” starring Jennifer Jason Leigh as Dorothy Parker.

Dorothy Parker

When I decided to start writing this blog, I was a bit hesitant about sharing so much about my life, especially regarding what has turned out to be such a difficult journey. At heart, I am in many ways a very private person (which makes me still have mixed feelings about the use and validity of Facebook!)  However, unemployment continues to be a huge problem in this country, and I think it’s important that unemployment has a face – that our personal stories be told. There are so many of us out here. I have said before that I regularly attend job networking groups, and facilitate a group sponsored by my church. There are many, many extremely talented, capable experienced people out of work or vastly underemployed. I saw a news segment a couple of nights ago that reported more than two million people have now been out of work for more than two years! http://www.npr.org/2011/10/07/141120994/long-term-unemployments-strain-on-the-job-search. And stories continue to be written about companies that will not even consider hiring someone who been out of work for what they consider to be “too long.” http://m.startribune.com/politics/?id=131416723&c=y

So what fresh unemployment hell am I currently experiencing? My close friends and family know, and for now I’d just rather leave it at that. I will say that I seem to be experiencing a long spell of bad luck. About six weeks ago on a nice, warm, sunny Sunday afternoon, I tripped on the sidewalk for no apparent valid reason and fell very hard (in a very Chevy Chase-esque manner) on my left hand. It was the same wrist I broke very badly in a DC aiport parking lot many years ago. On this recent tumble, I think I sprained at least one finger, and my hand still aches pretty good from time to time. And then just 2 1/2 weeks ago, my beloved kitty cat Cinder died unexpectedly one Friday night.

However, a string of bad luck can’t last forever! And bad days just make the good days all that much better! Today I am meeting a friend to share my LinkedIn knowledge with her, something I couldn’t have done some six months ago, as I didn’t yet have enough knowledge to share. So take that you job hiring naysayers who say we unemployed are unemployable because we are not keeping up with new trends, technology and what’s latest and greatest in our respective fields (in my case PR)!!

Lisa, Talented and Professional Job Seeker

This entry was posted in job hunting, unemployment and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh What Fresh Hell Is This?!

  1. Shurette says:

    I love all your blogs, Lisa. It has been awhile since I’ve read them so I’m glad now that you will let me know when you post a new one. You are a very good writer and I know, one day soon, somebody will recognize that and hire you!

Leave a Reply

