Riding In a Car with Cat and Other Stuff: Another Job Hunting Word Nerd Adventure

Friday, March 20, 2012: If you like or even mildly enjoy moving, you are part sadist, because it truly is one of the most miserable experiences from beginning to end. I have some friends and family who lived in the same house for many years – some 20 plus years or more. They are the lucky ones, these long-term abode dwellers whose memory of moving is a far-off distant experience, most likely when they moved out of their parent’s home or college dorm room and didn’t have so darn so much “stuff.” Since I graduated from college many moons ago, I’ve moved about 14 times – yikes! – including three times in the last 10 or so years,  getting rids of lots of “stuff” with each move.

So I thought moving my “stuff” out of my two-bedroom apartment into storage after getting rid of yet even more “stuff” would be a piece of cake. I was wrong. Dead wrong.  Now I don’t need to get into the details about why moving is such a royal PITA, because I quite frankly would like to put it behind me. However, I will share a few things that happened with this move that made it extra not fun.

First, usually when you move, at least in my experience, it’s because you just got a new job you’re thrilled about or maybe you bought a new house. However, this time I had to move because I couldn’t afford the place any more and had no idea where I would be moving TO! So that makes all the fun that moving isn’t even more of a drag. I tried to sell some “stuff” to further de-stuff my stuff, but found it’s almost impossible to sell some things on Craig’s List without practically giving it away, such as a washer and dryer, a desk, etc.

Then a couple of days before moving, my cat Jenni started acting funky. If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you know that my kitty Cinderella died a few months back. The night before Cinder passed away I remember thinking that if she didn’t seem better in the morning I would take her to the vet. It turns out I didn’t get that chance because Cinder girl passed away during the night. So when Jenni didn’t seem right, I wasn’t about to take any chances, and we made a mad dash to the Animal ER in the middle of the night, only to have to return to the vet a day later. It turns out it was some urinary tract issue that could have been brought on by the stress of moving. The vet doc gave her a couple shots, including one that would help keep her calm. I half jokingly asked if I could have one of those shots too please. I’m happy to report about a week later that Kit Kat Jenni seems just fine. Me – not so much.

So Jenni and I have been couch surfing with limited couch space available due to lots of people being allergic to cats or having other pets – yadda yadda yadda. I think some of my friends are worried I’ll sleep in my car, and as I’ve said to several of them – I wouldn’t tell you if I did.

Check out Jenni - she looks quite comfy!

But not too worry, so far we’re good, but then again you might want to re-read the previous paragraph 😉

Lisa, Talented and Professional Job Seeker

This entry was posted in job hunting, unemployment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Riding In a Car with Cat and Other Stuff: Another Job Hunting Word Nerd Adventure

  1. Really sorry to hear this. I’m glad you’re keeping up writing because sharing this sort of experience is essential for people to understand the realities of joblessness, homelessness and what the global economic crisis has done to us all. We’re on either side of a big pond and struggling for the same reasons – because we’re working class.

  2. I hope things improve for you soon. I’ve been thinking maybe we should learn to write code instead of sentences. But it’s hard to go back to school when you can’t earn enough to eat. Good luck to you and Jenni.

    • ljager1 says:

      That’s an excellent point – writing code instead of sentences. However, I am truly a word nerd, but I may have to branch out and do something else to earn a living!

Leave a Reply

