Hallelujah: Job Hunting Word Nerd Lands a Word Job!

April 2, 2011: 1,095 days. Three years. I don’t know that I’ve every specifically mentioned how long it’s been since I was laid off from my last full-time PR job, primarily because I was embarrassed! Extremely embarrassed to tell the truth.  I’ll have to do some checking, but I’m pretty sure that it was precisely three years ago today that I got my walking papers in Wisconsin. I’ve written many times about the stress and many negative emotions and all the other unpleasant things that go along with long-term unemployment. It’s not a pretty picture.

That being said – I am extremely ecstatic to report that those days are behind me! I just today was offered a job at my home town newspaper in Devils Lake, North Dakota http://www.devilslakejournal.com/ ! I don’t know my precise title yet, but it will be something like Reporter/Ad Sales/Social Media Assistant. Following my meeting at the newspaper office where the publisher offered me the job, I began my walk back home and was flooded with so many emotions – elation, extreme happiness, gratitude and probably the strongest emotion of all: overwhelming relief! I was actually positively, absolutely giddy as I hurried home to share the fantastic news with my parents that I felt like doing cartwheels or skipping all the way home!

Now particularly for my new readers, lest you think I’ve been resting on my laurels for these last few years, I have been a busy girl. When I was first laid off in Wisconsin, I took a little sabbatical to enjoy spending time with my brother and his family. Upon returning to Denver, I had odd jobs here and there, including “ham hawking” https://jobhuntingwordnerd.wordpress.com/2011/12/ and dip schlepping https://jobhuntingwordnerd.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/just-do-it/. I also did an occasional freelance writing project. And anyone whose been involved long-term job hunting knows that spending time looking for a job, when done properly, IS a full-time job. I also coordinated and hosted a weekly job networking job through my church and educated myself to become a social media expert and, of course, started writing this blog!

However, now that I have found gainful employment I will have to find something new to blog about. I’m thinking something along the lines of You Can Come Home Again: Word Nerd Returns to Her Roots.

Lisa – Talented, Professional and At Last Employed Human Being!

This entry was posted in job hunting, north dakota and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Hallelujah: Job Hunting Word Nerd Lands a Word Job!

  1. David Liggett says:

    Congratulations

  2. RicanaPR says:

    Hallelujah! Thanks 4 sharing! I’m so happy for you and I don’t even know you but we’re kinfolks! It will be 2 years and 1 month tomorrow that I was laid off; and it has been 1 year and 2 days since I packed what I could in my car and my kid, and drove 2,500+ miles across the country with great expectation. Just had “the talk” -again- this afternoon with fam I’m living with so you have no idea how your words ring true for me right now. Humiliating, degrading, isolating, stressing. U r aleady broken and ppl will break you into levels of brokenness that r unimaginable. Besides all the losses, that just keep a running tally. U will have plenty to tell us in this blog as “Talented, Professional and At Last Employed Human Being” adjusts 2 life on the new job and regain control of the steering wheel to this car careening out of control that those of us who have been on this island for awhile call our lives. Blessings comadre!

    • ljager1 says:

      Thank you for the well wishes! I am extremely happy for me too! It’s been a very long haul of unemployment. Yes, I do know what you’re going through, and I will keep you in my prayers! Keep me posted!

  3. Cathy R says:

    Congratulations! I’ve been hoping for the best for you and kitty cat.

  4. Jill of All Trades says:

    I am so excited for you! You worked hard and kept the faith, and this is going to be an awesome new opportunity for you. Congratulations!

  5. Congratulations! The paper is lucky to have you.

Leave a Reply

