Winter Woos: Adjusting to Life in My Hometown

(Following is my column, which appeared in the Tues., Sept. 11th edition of the Devils Lake Journal http://www.devilslakejournal.com/ where I sell ads and write stories. For more info about my hometown of Devils Lake, North Dakota, visit http://www.devilslakend.com)

A few nights ago I was going for a walk around sunset. Billowy, silvery white clouds looked gorgeous against the pink and orange sky. I looked up and noticed the leaves on tops of some extremely tall trees were bright yellow and gold. That sight along with the chill in the air gave the night a very fall feel.
I’ve written 20 some columns over the last four months I’ve been here at the Journal, and not once I have written about weather, other than a passing phrase or two. It’s probably because there really hasn’t been much to talk about weather-wise, because overall the weather has been pretty fantastic since I arrived here last spring.
That might soon change. Here at the Journal, we are working on the Fall/Winter Tourism Booklet. Last year’s booklet had lots of picturesque winter photos – that is if you think pics of frigid weather and snow are pretty. The booklet also has articles about winter events, including Shiverfest. I have to admit when I was living in the warmer winter clime of Denver, I poked a little fun about Shiverfest on my Facebook page, wondering why you would want to celebrate subzero temps and shivering!

Looking at these tourism booklet winter pics makes me a little scared. Ok that might be too strong of a word. Apprehensive. From the get go, I have never been a fan of winter and never will be. I’m a spring/summer/fall girl. In the spring, I can’t wait to abandon regular shoes for sandals, and I wear them all summer long and into fall even past the point where it’s practical!

When I mentioned to a co-worker that the winter tourism book pics made me a little scared, she called me a big woos. Ok she didn’t use the word big, but definitely woos. It’s not the first time a co-worker has called me a woos in relation to winter. When I worked in D.C. and would complain about the cold, a co-worker always said “how can you be cold, you’re from North Dakota,” as if us NoDaks have some built-in immunity to freezing weather.

In Denver last winter, I heard all about the extremely mild winter here from my ND relatives. So I’m hoping for the same this winter. We can’t depend on that though, so it’s best to be prepared. I was out at the Branding Iron recently and mentioned my apprehension about the upcoming winter to the owner. She said one of her long fur coats would keep out the cold, and I think that sounds like a good idea! I’m thinking also one of those big fur hats and some sturdy muck luck boots. So if and when it does get cold this winter all that gear should make me easy to spot if you want to raz me about being a winter woos!

This entry was posted in Devils Lake, north dakota and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Winter Woos: Adjusting to Life in My Hometown

  1. Laurene says:

    We spell it “wuss” in pa. I guess woos is a north dakota thing

Leave a Reply

