Here comes (and goes) the sun: Adjusting to Life in My Hometown

(Following is my column, which appeared in the Tues., Nov. 13th edition of the Devils Lake Journal http://www.devilslakejournal.com/ where I am a reporter/writer. For more info about my hometown of Devils Lake, North Dakota, visit http://www.devilslakend.com)

Here comes (and goes) the sun

I wrote a column a few months back, when I believe it was a blissfully balmy 70 or so degrees, that I was somewhat afraid of the impending winter. That fear stemmed from the fact that I had not experienced a North Dakota winter in nearly 30 years. My fears have been confirmed these last few weeks, when we received significant snowfall two weekends in a row. This past weekend for extra fun the storm began with freezing rain, turning the sidewalks and streets into a skating rink. I was supposed to photograph an event for the Journal late Saturday morning and as I slip slided my way to my car, nearly wiping out in the process, I was greeted by a sheet of ice entombing my vehicle. I hopped (slid) into my car and turned on the radio and heard, to my relief, that the event was cancelled due to the inclement weather.

So I slid back inside and decided to be a homebody the rest of the day and turned to Facebook to see how my pals in other parts of the country were faring. One friend, a DL High School classmate now living in Idaho, said he was already sick of winter. I echoed that statement, following which we were chastised for our “whining” by another classmate who is living in the warm winter Southern states, where I am guessing he hasn’t had to shovel a sidewalk in recent years or experience a minus zero windchill! Yet another Southern clime classmate said he actually missed the ND winters.

It’s what we haven’t seen much of these last few weeks that I am missing most about the more temperate winters in my other home state of Colorado. It’s no joke that Colorado is known as the Sunshine State – it truly does get more than 300 days of sunshine a year, meaning that the prolonged period of cloudiness we have been experiencing these last few weeks is a rarity. In fact, I don’t remember more than a few cloudy days in a row during my many years of living in Colorado.

I am going to buck up and try to embrace the winter. I need to get myself some cross country skis or snowshoes and also go ice skating, something I did a lot of growing up here in DL. Heck maybe I’ll even go ice fishing!

Fortunately as I write this column I can see the bright light of the sun making its way through the translucent glass block windows here at the Journal. It makes me want to grab my coat and go outside and lap up the sunshine, because according to the weather forecast it won’t last long. As for whining about winter I promise not to complain about it again. At at least not is this column – maybe.

This entry was posted in Devils Lake, north dakota and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Here comes (and goes) the sun: Adjusting to Life in My Hometown

  1. My best friend is Canadian, and another close friend is a transplant from Tennessee now living in Minnesota. They just laugh when I complain about our winters here.

Leave a Reply

