A Snowless, Cold-less Winter

FullSizeRenderIt’s been eight months since I last wrote my last blog post last June. It’s not been from lack of time, but more lack of focus, direction and inspiration. For those of you who have been with me since the beginning this blog was originally about my job hunting and employment journey. It then morphed into my small town living experiences and observations. Quite frankly I would like to write a blog that isn’t about me, but about a particular topic or passion.

However, since I am still mulling over a new theme, for this particular post I will cover

IMG_0002

On some 100 plus degree nights, it was often too hot to even sit by the pool.

territory from my last blog – California living. I have been living and working here in the Golden State capital of Sacramento for almost a year. I experienced my first summer of multiple days of 100 plus degree weather, which was more than a little toasty and at times uncomfortable and stifling. My strategy for dealing with it – other than cranking up the AC – was to reach back to my hardy North Dakota roots and tell myself that 105 degrees wasn’t that much different than 95 degrees, just like 20 below zero isn’t that much colder than 10 below zero. However, that line of thinking didn’t really help, because 105 felt like 150 compared to 95. And I am pretty sure that back in North Dakota I thought -20 felt a heck of a lot more frigid than -10, which segues nicely into winter in Northern California.

After surviving the sweltering summer, I wondered how I would like my first winter in such a moderate climate after experiencing a lifetime of cold, snowy winters. Would I miss snow? To be honest, I thought I might even though I have never been a big fan of winter no matter where I have lived. However I have to say as we approach the end of February I don’t miss either cold or snow one single bit. In fact, this kind of winter suits me to a T. The coldest temps we have had so far were in the 30s at night and only for a few days back at the end of November. On average highs seem to range in the 50s and 60-ish, and we get a fair bit of chilly (relatively speaking) and rainy days to at least give you a change of seasons and pace.

IMG_0375In addition the relatively balmy temps, I fully enjoy the amount of greenery and color that stays throughout the winter months. Although some trees lose their leaves, plenty of them do not, and there are still a fair number of flowers blooming. I wasn’t sure if flowers would survive on my deck in planter boxes, however, they did and even thrived. It also is exhilarating  to visit the Home Depot throughout the year and find a variety of flowers to plant.

As I approach almost a full year of California living, I’ll close the same way I ended my last blog post eight months ago – all in all not a bad place to live. I think I’ll stay.

IMG_0312

Blooming all year round!

IMG_0384

I am not sure what kind of tree this is – but it is green throughout the year!

IMG_0468

Some of the most gorgeous trees in Sacramento are on the large grounds adjacent to the Capitol.

 

This entry was posted in california, north dakota, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Snowless, Cold-less Winter

  1. Ahhh … glad to see you writing and sharing your California adventure with us! I will always have a warm spot in my heart for my old California home (and I don’t miss the North Dakota cold one bit). I’m glad you’re enjoying California and I look forward to your next posts!

Leave a Reply

